Is that latte art, or are you just playing with your coffee?

Latte art is apparently very “in” right now, since so many high-end coffee shops are really getting into the groove. I really like trying techniques out at home to see if I can replicate something by myself (in such weak attempts to save money or to impress guests). So I made myself some espresso-like coffee with a trusty moka pot, heated/foamed up some milk and got to pouring:

Now, all of the videos on YouTube made this look way too easy. Also, the professional baristas tend to accomplish this task at lightning speeds. Needless to say, I was too into taking pictures of the process, that I just had a nice big dollop of foam on the top with espresso-like coffee underneath. Oh well.

This is what it’s SUPPOSED to look like. This latte was professionally done at The Barn right here in Berlin.

In the end, I kind of cheated, took the end of a toothpick and just started drawing things to kind of make it look like a shell. At least the crema mixed with the foam kind of looked cool. To make it café-like and pretty, I added two little dashes of cocoa on top.
I’ll have to give it another try sometime soon, at the very least with some better pouring equipment. Since I didn’t have a pitcher with a spout, I was attempting to do pour with a regular mug. Also full-fat milk might help me out a bit more — I was using 1,5% fat milk. In the end, it was not the prettiest but it was still a nice way to kick off the morning. Definitely a step up from my boring drip coffee, no milk, no sugar.

All those YouTube tutorials make it look way too easy… Has any amateur had success at home?

One thought on “Is that latte art, or are you just playing with your coffee?

Leave a Reply

