Naschkatze (Prenzlauer Berg): Organic ice cream for your sweet tooth

Today I wasn’t feeling so great, so I decided to get some fresh air and ride my bike around. I ended up at Helmholtzplatz in Prenzlauer Berg and figured that if my throat was hurting, a Kugel (scoop) or two of ice cream might take the edge off. Or at least that’s how I convinced myself. And I stumbled upon Naschkatze, which had so many “Bio”-signs I figured I might as well see what the fuss was about:

My initial reaction when I walked up to the storefront was: my word, there are so MANY children here. Yes, it was a sunny day and yes, it was the late afternoon… but I’m pretty sure that the child to adult ratio had to have been at least 1.5 to 1. It shouldn’t come to me as such a shock, since Prenzlberg is stereotypically dominated by young parents and their Kinder — but I think I was just very put off because I felt like I was welcomed to the store by a chorus of screams from some very hyperactive children. Then again, the name of the shop is actually German for “someone with a sweet tooth”. Anyway, on to more important things:

The flavor selection was not the most extensive (16 to choose from), yet had a few intriguing flavors away from the standard chocolate, vanilla, strawberry. Erdnuss (peanut), rhubarb, and coffee were available as well. I decided on a scoop of mango and a scoop of jogurt-cassis in a cup. I noticed the guy also gave me a little sample on top of the rhubarb as well:

The ice cream was quite good and the consistency and feel were also good. Perhaps it was the flavors that I chose, but this may have been a case where the owners took their namesake a little bit too much to heart — I found everything to be much too sweet for my taste. The rhubarb was fine, the mango was okay (definitely didn’t remind me of fresh mangos but more so of canned or preserved). But the more I ate, the more nauseatingly sweet it felt. What really surprised me was that the yogurt-cassis was just as sweet as the mango! At this point, I had purposely left the yogurt-flavored scoop towards the end, hoping it would give me a little bit of a break, but it was still too much. Perhaps that’s why the kids were all going nuts and screaming. Or, perhaps they were just kids. (No idea. I don’t have any, so I’m not really in a place to comment.) The accompanying waffle was lovely, though. Perhaps it might be better to get it in a waffle.

So I don’t have the sweetest tooth in the world, but I do appreciate desserts. Though yes, it sure seems like they put quite a lot of care into making everything as organically as possible — the end result just wasn’t really for me, it was just too sweet for me to handle. Perhaps it was the flavors I chose. If anyone out there is a die-hard fan of the shop, I’m open to better options. Also, at 1,20 € for a scoop, it is a titch more expensive than your standard Eisladen (ice cream shop). The opening hours also seem to vary day by day, according to the weather. If you’re really into an organic lifestyle, by all means, go support this shop. If you have children and want to go out for an ice cream and ensure that there are enough little chairs so your kid can also sit somewhere too, please, go here. For anyone else, you can go if you want to…but I wouldn’t insist upon it.

Bio-Eisdiele Naschkatze
Eberswalder Straße (U2), M1, M10, Tram 12
Raumerstraße 8
10437 Berlin – Prenzlauer Berg
Open 14h-20h (sometimes 21h if the weather is good, check website for latest opening times)

Leave a Reply

